Change is hard work

I haven’t told a lot of people some of what has been happening in my life. I have been keeping some things quiet until I knew for a fact that I’m doing the right thing. 4 months ago I began a very simple exercise program that was inspired by a conversation with my friend & spirit sister Kristi.

Every day I have taken an extra 15-30 min while in the bathroom to do upper body workouts. At first I was embarrassed. I thought I should be able to walk the store or walk the strip mall. Heck, I should be able to walk the dog,  But ending up in the ER 4 weeks ago thinking my foot was broke made me realize I was doing exactly the right thing that fit with my body’s abilities and malfunctions. Looks like I sprained a tendon and am much better now.

All this time I never stopped the exercises. They were all upper body exercises and although it hurt when I increased reps, I didn’t stop and that felt good. Up until a week before my rheumatologist appt I hadn’t changed my diet at all. Four weeks ago I received some good news when I went to my rheumatologist, I had lost 4 lbs. Just from upper body exercises while on the toilet..lol! I was excited but still cautious.

Three weeks ago I had a scare that made me change my diet permanently. I have been border line diabetic for a few years. For some stupid reason it didn’t sink in. Then it all hit me. I went to bed three weeks ago and couldn’t get to sleep. I was having PVC & PAC events. They were happening every 3rd-5th beat. My bp was up a little, but nothing dangerous, my heart rate was up, but again was nothing out of the ordinary. Then I took my sugar, it was 220! Normal is 80-100, 100-140 is moderate. You can see it was bad.  It could have been worse but I’m glad wasn’t. For my body any sugar level over 140 immediately effects my heart. Monday morning I made a drastic change that my body has been asking for. I have cut my sugar intake & carb to bare minimum. I have not regretted it one bit, nor had my body complained. Here I am 3 weeks after changing my diet and still exercising and 2 weeks since I seen the rheumatologist and I have lost another 4.9 lbs. I have a LONG way to go and a few more doctor appointments to get through to make sure my body is moving with me safely, but so far all doctors are happy and so am I. I know I didn’t put this on fast, I’m going to take off faster than I put it on, but I’m doing it.
If my body allows, this time next year I want to dance again. I lost weight before, but found it again. This time my mind is with my body and the transformation had no choice but to happen.
I will post periodic updates, but I wanted to share with everyone what I’m doing and what has been happening. Believe me. If I can do it, anyone can. I have been overweight my whole life with negative thoughts always going through my head. I’m going to tell everyone now, change your mind and you will change your body. Don’t wait until you have a scare, start today, one day at a time if your having a rough time, reach out to me. I will lend an ear and encouragement. I may be able to offer some tips or tricks too.
Bright blessings!!
Anna
Www.SmokeyCrystal.com
Www.michccs.com

About fancyanna330

Proud Mom and Pagan in the Detroit area of MI working hard to make a difference.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Change is hard work

  1. Many blessings to you Anna! What you are doing and the way you are doing the weight loss is exactly right. We are both on that journey, and I wish you the best of luck.

  2. Anna- I wish you the best on your new journey and I know you can make it through this difficult time. You’re doing the right thing to stay healthy and you have people in your life that love and support you all the way.

Leave a Reply

